Final Fantasy Record Keeper Cardia Dungeons Clears Part 2

Final Fantasy Record Keeper Cardia Dungeons Clears Part 2

There are still a lot of fights in the Cardia Dungeons in the Final Fantasy Record Keeper (FFRK) mobile game that I have yet to clear.

image

After hearing the news that Final Fantasy Record Keeper was gonna end its service on September 29, 2022 (I talk more about that in another post), I wanted to finish as much of FFRK’s content as I can.

image

I know it doesn’t really matter, but still. For now, I don’t want to say goodbye to Final Fantasy Record Keeper yet. Heck, I wish this game didn’t have to end, at least not anytime soon.

Anyway, so I started going through the Cardia Dungeons, checking each quest and looking to see which ones I’ve already cleared. Will try to do the ones I haven’t cleared yet. Also trying to see if I can sub-30 these fights.

Dragonking Dungeons

The Dragonking fights in the Cardia Dungeons are quest level 630. There’s a Dragonking quest for each of the Final Fantasy realms as well as Final Fantasy Record Keeper. The boss for each of these fights is Bahamut.

Door of Stars, Final Fantasy VII Dragonking Dungeon

I’ve done the Final Fantasy VII Dragonking Dungeon fight multiple times by now. I talk more about that in this post.

The very first Dragonking Dungeon fight that I beat was the Final Fantasy VII (#ad) one. This was only to be expected since in FFRK, FF7 is my most stacked realm. 

Every time we get a time-limited mission that wants us to clear a Dragonking fight, my go-to is always the Final Fantasy 7 one because, so far, it’s the only one I’ve ever been able to beat.

The last time I tried the Final Fantasy VII Dragonking fight, was able to get a clear time of 30.40 seconds with the following team:

  • Genesis Rhapsodos from Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII
  • Aeris or Aerith Gainsborough from Final Fantasy VII
  • Barret Wallace from Final Fantasy VII
  • Sephiroth from Final Fantasy VII
  • Vincent Valentine from Dirge of Cerberus: Final Fantasy VII and Final Fantasy VII
image

Argh! Was so close to being able to sub-30 this quest. I resolved to give it another try the next time we got another time limited mission that wants us to clear a Dragonking fight.

This time, I was able to get the win in 26.95 seconds. Yay for finally being able to sub-30 this quest.

image

My FFVII team did so well. Aerith served as my healer slash support slash buffer. Genesis was my primary DPS with Sephiroth and Vincent as my secondary ones. 

Barret served as another support although he could deal a bit of damage too. He and Vincent were also in charge of lowering Bahamut’s resistance to the fire element.

Door of the Crimson, Final Fantasy Type-0 Dragonking Dungeon

After Final Fantasy VII, my next most stacked realm in Final Fantasy Record Keeper is probably Final Fantasy Type-0.

I’ve been trying the Final Fantasy Type-0 Dragonking fight for what seems like a long while now but up to now, I still can’t get the win.

My team was:

  • Rem Tokimiya from Final Fantasy Type-0
  • Ace from Final Fantasy Type-0
  • Deuce from Final Fantasy Type-0
  • Cait Sith from Final Fantasy VII
  • Cater from Final Fantasy Type-0

Rem and Ace served as my DPS since I have their Awakenings and Syncs. Deuce was my healer and Cait Sith was my support and buffer who can also heal. 

Don’t have a single BDL relic for Cater so she was just here to help imperil fire for Ace and give her Soul Break gauges to Deuce so the latter can spam her healing Ultra Soul Break.

Even after getting Ace’s Dual Awakening Soul Break (DASB) and True Arcane Soul Break (TASB) or Arcane Dyad Soul Break (ADSB) so that he now has 4 BDL relics, I still couldn’t win against the Final Fantasy Type-0 Dragonking fight.

I’ve come so close to winning multiple times already though. So far, my latest best try was being able to deal 93.9% damage to Bahamut. It was really frustrating to be so close and yet still be unable to get the win.

image

Much later, I was able to get Cater’s Awakened Arcane Soul Break (AASB), which was nice, but, unfortunately, it didn’t really make a difference in the Bahamut fight. Cater’s damage was still basically non-existent.

The next time I tried the Final Fantasy Type-0 Dragonking fight was right after I was able to sub-30 the Final Fantasy VII Dragonking quest.

The time limited missions we get for the Cardia Dungeons usually wants us to clear at least 2 Dragonking fights. Aside from actually beating Bahamut, there are also rewards associated with being able to deal at least 30% and 60% damage to him.

Since I still couldn’t beat the Type-0 Bahamut boss, I always had to settle for not being able to get all the time limited rewards whenever these missions show up.

Anyway, the latest Cardia Dungeons missions appeared some time after FFRK gave its end of service announcement so there was no longer any point in saving my resources for the future.

And so I decided to create Cater’s Hero Ability. It deals damage and imperils the fire, ice, and lightning elements. Also unlocked more of her Record Boards and such.

Normally, I only bother to do those things if I have at least 2 BDL relics for a char. Besides, with only 1 BDL relic, Cater wasn’t making it to any of my elemental teams. And she was really only here on my Final Fantasy Type-0 realm team for lack of better options.

There was no point in saving anything anymore though so just went ahead and tried to max out Cater as much as possible. Even went and got her a Hero Artifact.

I don’t know if any of this really helped though. Cater still didn’t deal much damage at all.

But maybe things just finally aligned this time because, to my surprise, actually managed to win somehow. Yay for beating my second Bahamut boss!

image

Got the win in 32.80 seconds. Too bad I missed out on the sub-30. There are some rewards locked behind being able to sub-30 this fight so I’m gonna have to do this again later.

Torment Dungeons

There’s a Torment Dungeon for each of the Final Fantasy realms as well as Final Fantasy Record Keeper. There are 3 Torment fights per realm with the following quest levels: 240, 280 and 450.

The fights here have long since been powercrept so I’ve been able to do most of them already.

Final Fantasy IV D450 Torment Dungeon

Also known as Stuff of Nightmares, Part 3. I’ve done this fight before and my fastest clear time was 34.23 seconds.

image

There are rewards for clearing the Torment Dungeons quests within 30 seconds so I tried this fight again to get the sub-30.

My team was:

  • Tellah from Final Fantasy IV
  • Barbariccia from Final Fantasy IV
  • Rydia from Final Fantasy IV
  • Kain Highwind from Final Fantasy IV
  • Cait Sith from Final Fantasy VII

Since I have multiple BDL relics for Rydia, she served as my main DPS for this fight. She’s a magical DPS who dabbles in multiple elements, including water and holy. 

Cait Sith is the premier support for mages so I brought him here as my healer and to support Rydia. Both Tellah and Barbariccia deal magical damage too so they can also benefit from Cait Sith’s buffs.

Had Rydia equipped with the Mako Might Record Materia. This lets her start a fight with 2 Soul Break gauges so I can have her use one of her BDL relics right away.

Cait Sith was equipped with the Dr. Mog’s Teachings Record Materia. This has the same effect as Mako Might so was able to have Cait use his Awakening right away to buff Rydia.

Had one of the other chars use the Final Fantasy IV Roaming Warrior Chain. Barbariccia, Tellah, and Kain were all equipped with Record Materia that lets them quickly build up their gauges so they can use their Soul Breaks as soon as possible.

But Rydia was so fast and good and this fight really was powercrept by now that the others didn’t get the chance to do much of anything. Rydia basically finished the enemy off on her own. 

IIRC, had her use her holy Synchro Arcane Soul Break (SASB) and she was able to deal a lot of damage in just a few turns. Managed to get the win in 8.65 seconds.

image

Final Fantasy VI D450 Torment Dungeon

Also known as Mired in Despair, Part 3. For this fight, my team was:

  • Terra Branford from Final Fantasy VI
  • Celes Chere from Final Fantasy VI
  • Strago Magus from Final Fantasy VI
  • Kefka Palazzo from Final Fantasy VI
  • Cait Sith from Final Fantasy VII
image

Since Terra, Strago, and Kefka were all mages, I once again brought in Cait Sith to be my support and healer.

Strago served as my main DPS since I have one of his Syncs. This team did very well. Managed to get the win in 12.80 seconds.

Final Fantasy III D450 Torment Dungeon

Also known as Revel in Destruction, Part 3. For this fight, my team was:

  • Cloud of Darkness from Final Fantasy III
  • Onion Knight from Final Fantasy III
  • Arc from Final Fantasy III
  • Luneth from Final Fantasy III
  • Cait Sith from Final Fantasy VII

The Cloud of Darkness and Arc deal magical damage. Onion Knight is a hybrid char, meaning he can be made to deal either physical or magical damage. Luneth deals physical damage.

Brought Cait Sith as my support and healer again since the Cloud of Darkness was my main DPS for this fight.

I only have one of their Awakenings but I already have their Hero Ability created and they already have most of their Boards and such completed since they’re part of my magical dark elemental team as my Chain holder.

Initially, I was gonna have Onion Knight as my main DPS since I have more BDL relics for him. Have 2 of his Awakenings and one of his Syncs and his other AASB is even Lensable, in case I need more.

But when I tried to unlock Onion Knight’s Boards and such, I found that I needed a lot of these things called Onion Knight Motes. Didn’t have a single one on hand and wasn’t even sure where I could get them.

Didn’t want to bother with trying to find and obtain Onion Knight Motes right now. Just wanted to try this Torment quest already. Most likely, I wouldn’t need Onion Knight anyway since this fight was so powercrept by now and I do have Arc and Luneth to back up the Cloud of Darkness.

So I brought in Onion Knight as-is and tried the fight already. Soon after the battle began, Onion Knight ended up being turned to stone or something. It was some sort of debuff that rendered him basically unusable for the entire duration of the quest since I didn’t have any way to cure him.

I don’t know if this happened because he was on slot 2 or because he wasn’t fully built or whatever but it didn’t really matter. Was still able to get the win in 12.25 seconds even with only 4 active chars.

image

Final Fantasy I D450 Torment Dungeon

Also knowns as Villainous Cycle, Part 3. Already managed to beat this fight before but my clear time was 31.64 seconds.

image

My team for trying to sub-30 this Torment fight was:

  • Master from Final Fantasy I
  • Warrior of Light from Final Fantasy I
  • Wol from Final Fantasy Mobius
  • Garland from Final Fantasy I
  • Aeris or Aerith Gainsborough from Final Fantasy VII

Final Fantasy I is one of the realms where I don’t have a lot of relics. AFAIK, don’t even have a single Final Fantasy I char with 2 BDL relics.

All the FF1 chars I brought to this fight deal physical damage so had Aerith be my healer and buffer.

Have both of Aerith’s Awakenings but I’m missing her Sync. She can easily provide Last Stand with one of her Ultra Soul Breaks (USB).

Aerith is especially good as a support for physical DPS because she can reduce the delay of the party’s physical attacks for 3 turns.

Master served as my main DPS since I have his Sync. He’s pretty good. It’s just too bad that I don’t have his Awakening and it’s unfortunately not Lensable.

Managed to get the win in 12.60 seconds. Glad to have gotten the win even with a team like this but now I’m worried about the Final Fantasy I Dragonking fight. 

image

Pretty sure it’s gonna be near impossible to beat Bahamut unless I can get more BDL relics for FF1 chars. Here’s to hoping I can still manage somehow anyway. Will have to give it a try later.

Conclusion

So what about you? Have you done any of the quests in the Cardia Dungeons? What do you think about these fights? Feel free to share your thoughts and opinions by leaving a comment below or by reblogging or replying to this post.

Notes:

  • screenshots are from my Final Fantasy Record Keeper game account
  • originally published on my main Tumblr blog on Oct 30th, 2022 10:46:58pm

Leave a comment